Visit to Dr Allaway

The doctor had attended a presentation on athlete’s heart and AF in triathletes the previous week, and was interested as my symptoms seemed to be a textbook case.

My CHA2DS2 score is 0, denoting my level of chances of a stroke.  This is good as AF increases the chance of stroke significantly.  I found out later that this is not a zero risk of stroke, but a zero risk score; there is still an associated statistical risk of 1.8% in any year.  I don’t like those odds; they mount up after a few of years of compounding.  All my dad’s siblings have had strokes.

Leave a Reply

