Ultrasound scan of liver

This was the hottest day of the year so far.  According to instructions I had to drink 2 litres of water at least an hour before the procedure.  The operator could not get a good view of the bile duct and asked the senior on duty to view.  While waiting, I needed to talk to take my mind of my extremely full bladder.  Normally, medical staff won’t say anything, but he was happy to pass on information.  It seemed good, no fatty deposits etc.  I asked if it was shiny, he said he couldn’t really tell the level of shinyness.

(EDIT) I discovered later, the medical notes said “US scan of abdomen report, borderline, Make an appointment to see doctor”. Still not too disastrous, but not the resounding vote of confidence I felt at the time.

Leave a Reply

