France

Holiday in France.  First two days in the Loire Valley, followed by ten days in the Dordogne and a further two days in the Loire on the way back.  We took all the family bikes.  I had a couple of beta-blocked rides in Saumur which felt very good.  The Dordogne was fairly lumpy terrain, but not as long or steep as the peak district at home.  This gave me two instances of high HR. One on a steepish slope back to the site; I hit 169 so had to stop and rest.  The second was on a downhill; 176.  This was weird, was I too nervous through being out of practice?

Not too many side effects from the beta blockers, just that I did not feel particularly fit, although I was able to cycle reasonably well, if slowly uphill. I became out of breath very quickly when running, e.g. playing Frisbee with my son.

The holiday spirit overwhelmed me and overall too much wine was drunk.  These are words I have never used before in the same sentence.  In spite of this my resting pulse has fallen to 47.

Leave a Reply

