GGT and birthday

GGT done on 29th March after a month and a half without alcohol.  It was required by the GP because the NGH had not managed to pass on my results from two weeks ago.  It was 112, just under double the maximum but the lowest result so far.  My further research and conversation with the trainee cardiologist suggested that the high GGT reading is alcohol based after all and will take a year of abstention to lower.  On the plus side, the link between high GGT and alcohol doesn’t indicate liver disease, in fact the lack of other high results suggests no damage at all.  It turns out that my unscientific Excel chart was actually more accurate than I thought, and the 90 day moving average is a good predictor of GGT.   The last reading seems to have been a blip due to my weakness over Xmas and the few drinks I had after the news of Dave’s death doesn’t seem to have had much of an adverse effect.

alcohol and GGT 29-03

Today will be my first dry birthday in 38 years; I could probably have a couple of glasses, but with the operation next week, it doesn’t seem worth the risk.  Actually, it is really not a problem for me, but Diana seems disappointed.  With the GGT and my drug habit evolving to contain considerable doses of amiodarone in the near future, it seems likely that my dry period will now extend at least until October.

Leave a Reply

