Ablation day +2

The pain was becoming a problem by the morning; I was asking for more painkillers and then a short while later the pain was getting worse again.  Opioids were the problem, they were causing gastro-oesophageal reflux; they were numbing the pain around my muscles and heart, but creating another one ten times worse.  It is now added to my medical record that I am allergic to Oxycodone.

I was allowed to walk by myself and have a shower.  The catheter bag was filling heroically, but I was still feeling quite bloated.

I discovered my friend Ian had not survived his operation.  I had been asking the nurses for a while as I was expecting him back on the ward 24 hours after me.  The nurses seemed to know nothing and found out by an email from the club chair.  Devastating news.

The other ward residents were another problem; the one next to me was complaining loudly to himself about everything, and the one opposite had a very spiteful conversation with the nurses who wanted to give his adjustable chair to the new patient.  I went to bed at 8 p.m. to avoid having to talk to them.  I was woken by the new patient who appeared to think he had been abducted and was demanding to see everyone from his wife to the police.  The reflux kicked in and I had to spend the rest of the night propped up in a chair.  I believe that this is the worst I have ever felt in my life and was regretting agreeing to the ablation.

On the plus side I was in NSR all day.

Leave a Reply

