Golf clubbed

It was set out to be another glorious June day, so I set off early for another canal ride.  I had been feeling very fit and healthy on recent rides.  I was not pushing it, but riding had seemed effortless and much faster.  Its just about three months after the ablation, so perhaps the blanking period is over and I am recovering fitness.  I decided to try the light slopes through Westwood and on to the golf club.  There is a spot where I normally stop to allow HR to drop, I thought it may be possible to ride through.

I was heading down the trail at some speed (Strava says 18 mph) through a gravelly chicane.  This was the point I realised CX tyres aren’t magic and still require skill to go fast round dodgy corners. The back wheel slipped and I hit a tree root, causing me to bounce high in the air and roll.  I had cuts to my arm and leg; arm continued a rivaroxaban bleed for quite a while, leg was fine.  I had also managed to bruise the top of both shoulders and re-activate the groin strain of a few weeks previously from which I had just about recovered.

Leave a Reply

